Refuse

by Ben Phillips

The world around me
continually changes.
I refuse to speak.

The dreariness of
life, satisfied with no change.
I refuse to speak.

Some question what it
means to be alive right now.
I refuse to speak.

They doubt their own strength
and will to find happiness.
I refuse to speak

Politicians make
their desperate promises
I refuse to speak.

Some believe in this,
others yell out, “Lies! That’s false!”
I refuse to speak.

The politicians
assume control and support.
I refuse to speak.

Still unsatisfied,
we find no utopia.
I refuse to speak.

I found happiness
within my own self, but still
I refuse to speak.

The people doubt that
they can truly be happy.
I refuse to speak.

The government holds
us in our state of despair.
I refuse to speak.

The people protest
over the actions of few.
I refuse to speak.

They stand united
rejected the way things are.
I refuse to speak.

My peers are jailed now,
they stood up to be put down.
I refuse to speak.

Acquiescence starts,
chants are replaced by silence.
I refuse to speak.

No one speaks out of
turn for fear of what may come.
I begin to scream.

My screams soon give way
to the eternal silence.
We refuse to speak.

 

 

Pic credit: http://herbivore.us

Leave a Reply

